Monday, January 30, 2012
Music and Memory
Ok, so as im sitting in norms today listening to music, I find myself wondering why I can remember song lyrics so easily. Am I the only one who finds it quite weird, interesting or just plain odd that people have trouble remembering important things such as the homework they have to do for the night or something really important but have no trouble at all remembering the words to tons and tons of songs that are more complicated than anything without even trying? I mean honestly, i remember a lot of useless song lyrics more than i do birthdays, or phone numbers and even important meetings that i have to go to that kind of means everything in my teaching career. No one can say that its just because the songs are catchy and they like them because i remember the words to songs that are totally and completely (for lack of a better word) dumb. Maybe its just a subconscious thing i guess, but still it makes absolutely no sense to me. Scientists have probably done some test thing to understand why this happens, i just dont understand the means of this. I do wonder, if we made everyday things that we need to remember to music and make it in song form if we would remember them easily and more often. I kinda wanna try it out and probably will lol. This is probably really kinda unnecessary but i find myself really confunded by this. If any of you have a legit answer to this question please feel free to answer for me, it would be greatly appreciated.
Wednesday, January 18, 2012
Culture Shock and Diversity.
Here's a little introduction to why i chose this topic :
So all my life i have gone to this little bitty school called South Davidson in this itty bitty town called Denton. People think i exaggerate when I say i went to a tiny school, but it honestly was tiny. I graduated with only 91 other seniors, the entire high school only had 400 and some people, and my high school was connected to my middle school. I was never exposed to different races where i'm from. Our school was very non-diverse, we all liked huntin, muddin, wearin our cowboy boots and carryin our southern accents with pride lol. Everyone knew everything about everyone. My house was in the country part of the town.There are woods surrounding my house and entire neighborhood. I have always been able to ride my bike in the middle of the street without my parents having to worry about me. It was a very safe place for kids, i don't think i ever heard of a robbery being committed in our town in my 16 years of living there.
When i came to visit this school, needless to say, i was completely blown away with all the buildings and sounds that i was not used to hearing all the time. I met people who thought my accent was funny. They all told me about how big their schools were and how long it took for their graduation ceremony and said i was lucky to have such a small school but how weird it was. When i met my roommates on move it day i was shocked at their northern accents because id never heard one before. They laughed when i called carts "buggies" at walmart and when i asked them if they had ever been muddin they just looked at me like i was crazy. My first night at the college was a difficult one for me, i heard cop cars and ambulances all night, something that i had never had to endure before. And on my way to classes, i just felt everyone tried to be as anti- social as possible, im not that type of person. I like to say hey to people when i see them, i think its just natural haha. I was homesick for the first month and a half i would say. But then i got out and started to meet people in my classes and around campus and i figured out that people weren't as anti social and we had more in common than what i thought, i just had to get out of my comfort zone and put an effort forth to meet them.
I think my point of this blog was to show that, no matter how different we are and how different we grew up, we can all connect in one way or another, we just have to make an effort.
Sunday, January 15, 2012
Weekend Life!
So for all of you who aren't living on campus. You are in luck! The weekends here really really suck. Especially if you don't have a car. Everyone tends to go home (which i feel is kinda stupid) and there is pretty much nothing to do! It sucks so bad.. unless you know people (; To all of you who do live on campus and who are here on the weekends, if you get bored or just need something to do, you are always welcome to come hang out in Cedar. It's the dorm i live in and we tend to be like a big family and we are always adopting.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
